Cortez "Phoebus"

THRT028 / January 31, 2013


With this album CORTEZ is again proving that you can get out of the habitual pattern of power trio (guitar, drums and voice), and still burps noise-hardcore fury and incandescent anger. The band recently reorganized itself with the arrival of Antoine Tinguely on the guitar (ex-Berserk For Tea Time), Samuel Vaney, former guitarist, is now supporting the band as composer / mixer. Recorded partly in the REC Studio of Serge Morattel in Geneva, drums, and partly in their own rehearsal space, guitars and vocals, this new album is the result of hard work, giving the band big freedom in creation and the possibility to fully assume the production process. Complete independence in learning, creating and finalizing the record. "Phoebus" reaffirms the taste of CORTEZ for saturation, but also explores a wide range of possibilities. Like a threatening and corrosive mist the aggressive sound still remains intense, melancholic and emotional.

  • Recorded by Cortez & Serge Morattel at REC Studio, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Mixed and mastered by Samuel Vaney at Autoclave Studio, Singapour
  • Artwork by Dehn Sora

500 x black vinyl


01. Temps-Mort
02. Transhumance
03. Au Delà Des Flots
04. Arrogants Que Nous Sommes
05. Un Lendemain Sans Chaîne
06. L'Autre Estime
07. Sulfure
08. Nos Souvenirs Errants
09. Idylle
10. Borrelia

    Plebeian Grandstand / Cortez "Split"

    THRT023 / October 15, 2012

    10"EP  / DIGITAL

    Tolosian plebs and long-time-no-see swiss cross their swords on this exclusive 10” split, each band carving their grooves with an unique twelve minute-long track. 

    On tail side, PLEBEIAN GRANDSTAND confirms their hegemony in terms of frightening chaos : the ghostly "I.W.W.O.Y.T.W.Y.W.O.M" starts like a long and punishing funeral procession, just before the thunder strikes the cortege. Becoming less hardcore-oriented and more experimental - while always sustaining a rare intensity-, the band leaves their comfort zone with this hypnotic track swinging between sludge/drone and black metal. 

    Heads, after seven years of silence and a full-length ("Initial") that left a deep impression, "A.F.D.N.T.E.D.E.V.L.S." marks the comeback of CORTEZ’s acrid and corrosive noisecore. Still bass-less, still as harsh as ever, the swiss trio delivers a massive piece filled with a nearly luminous imperial slowness. An opportunity to check that the band hasn’t lost its touch, entangling crushed rhythms and powerful emotional discharges.

    • Recorded and mixed by Luc Ferré at O'O Studio in Toulouse, France / Samuel Vaney at Autoclave Studio, Singapore
    • Mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering Chicago, USA
    • Artwork by Romain Barbot

    500 x bone white


    01. Plebeian Grandstand - I.W.W.O.Y.T.W.Y.W.O.M
    02. Cortez - A.F.D.N.T.E.D.E.V.L.S.