DIREWOLVES "The Great Year"

THRT063 / May 26, 2017


Three years after their debut album "Aegri Somnia", Lorient, France's DIREWOLVES return with "The Great Year". This new six tracks EP focuses on the more energetic facet of their sound, refining the band's revigorating blend of melodic crust and screamo-influenced hardcore. Recorded & mixed by Guillaume Doussaud at Swan Sound Studios (Amanda Woodward, Aussitôt Mort…), mastered by Dan Coutant at Sun Room Studios (Coliseum, The Sword, Jawbox…) and with artwork once again designed by Førtifem, "The Great Year" is another implacable display of the band's abrasive yet anthemic vision of punk/hardcore.

  • Recorded and mixed by Guillaume Doussaud at Swan Sound Studio, La Ferrière-Harang, France
  • Mastered by Dan Coutant at Sun Room Audio, Cornwall, USA
  • Artwork by Førtifem

215 x bone / blood haze
289 x black


01. Unpoisoned
02. Oaths & Duality
03. From Tomb To Womb
04. Ascent
05. Unhousel'd, Unanel'd
06. Paths To Metnal

    DIREWOLVES "Ægri Somnia"

    THRT041 / March 24, 2014

    LP / CD  / DIGITAL

    Formed in 2011 in Lorient, western France, DIREWOLVES rapidly stood out from the pack by combining both the melodic and the heavy aspects of punk hardcore. Their first full-length "Aegri Somnia" not only follows the path of their EP "Me From Myself, To Banish" (2012) but also enhances the spectrum of their sound, browsing through a large range of sub-genres while avoiding their respective clichés. Songs such as "Holy Treason" or "Face The Facts" show the band at their most vehement, colliding unstoppable drumming with heavily metallic-influenced riffs while the end of the record explores more emotionally-charged post-metallic soundscapes. With their constant will to remain straightforward but diversified DIREWOLVES deliver eleven highly epic and passionate anthems, condensing everything you could expect from a great hardcore LP in 2014.

    • Recorded by Amaury Sauvé at La Senelle, Laval, France & Direwolves in Lorient, France
    • Mixed by Guillaume Doussaud at Swan Sound Studio, La Ferrière-Harang, France
    • Mastered by Nick Zampiello at New Alliance East, Boston, USA
    • Artwork by Førtifem

    500 x sea blue


    01. Introspection
    02. Insights
    03. The Blindness That Keeps You Warm
    04. Holy Treason
    05. Echoed In Vain
    06. Sighs And Whisper
    07. The Liar's Choice
    08. Face The Facts
    09. Light It Up
    10. Keep It Clear
    11. Endless Tragedies

      DIREWOLVES "Me From Myself, To Banish"

      THRT024 / October 15, 2012

      12"EP / CD  / DIGITAL

      Hailing from Lorient (western France), DIREWOLVES merge modern hardcore, crust and screamo on their debut EP "Me From Myself, To Banish". Recorded by producer/sound engineer Amaury Sauvé at La Senelle, these six songs find the perfect balance between emotion and heaviness, reminding of bands such as Alpinist, Lewd Acts or Killing The Dream. After a self-released demo last year, the Wolves confirm their huge potential - don't sleep on them!

      • Recorded & mixed by Amaury Sauvé at La Senelle, Laval, France
      • Mastered by Sylvain Biguet in Paris, France
      • Artwork by Førtifem

      500 x milky clear


      01. Growing Defeat
      02. Dialogue Of No Light
      03. Reach This Hand
      04. Diving And Struggling
      05. Me From Myself, To Banish
      06. Relief