Verdun "Astral Sabbath"

THRT074 / November 15, 2019


Three years after their first album "The Eternal Drift's Canticles" that sits them firmly as a stalwart of the european sludge / doom scene, Montpellier, France's powerhouse VERDUN returns with "Astral Sabbath", marking their debuts as a four-piece. The band headed to the Cantal countryside during Spring 2019 to record and mix these seven tracks with Cyrille Gachet (Fange, Year Of No Light, Chaos Echoes).

With an approach of slow and heavy music played with a punk energy and a psychedelic feel, the band shines at combining sorrowful melodies with earth-shaking riffing. More focused in writing memorable tracks rather than relying on deafening volumes, this second full-length is the band's most accomplished effort, mastered by Bruno Varea (Blut Aus Nord, Doctor Livingstone…) and featuring striking cover art by illustrator Sinpiggyhead.

  • Recorded by Cyrille Gachet at La Pierre Noire, Champagnac, France

  • Mixed by Cyrille Gachet at Dick Doom Studios, Bordeaux, France

  • Mastered by Bruno Varea at Upload Studio, Montpellier, France

  • Artwork by Sinpiggyhead

200 x gold with white marble
300 x black


01. Return Of The Space Martyr
02. Darkness Has Called My Name
03. интерлюдия
04. Venom(s)
05. The Second Sun
06. L'Enfant Nouveau
07. Ästräl Säbbäth

Verdun "The Eternal Drift's Canticles"

THRT054 / April 29, 2016


Arisen in 2011 from the fertile scene of Montpellier, France, VERDUN made a name in the realm of slow and heavy music on the basis of a simple three-tracks demo, leaving a strong impression on every witness of the band’s thunderous live shows. With a line-up solidified after a few european tours and opening slots for forefathers such as Electric Wizard, Eyehategod or YOB, the band finally delivers their long-awaited debut album, mixed and mastered by Tad Doyle.

"The Eternal Drift’s Canticles" is the fruit of three years of crafting; far from simple amp-worship, the band excels at creating memorable tracks with their science of instant-classic riffs. A richer background emanate from these guitars, able to tint their sludge/doom roots with metallic hardcore toughness or burden-of-the-world melodies. Another strong component of VERDUN’s trademark sound comes from these charismatic vocals, switching between echoed screams from outer space, spoken words or mournful clean vocals. With an arid, heavy as hell sound, "The Eternal Drift’s Canticles" is a 55-minutes dark and painful procession that transcends the heritage of too-often codified scenes, running away from simply rehashing the past.

  • Recorded by Mathieu Croux in Montpellier, France
  • Mixed and mastered by Tad Doyle at Witch Ape Studio, Seattle, USA
  • Artwork by Dadoo Jaxa

496 x 180 gram ultraclear


01. Mankind Seppuku
02. Self-Inflicted Mutalitation
03. Dark Matter Crisis
04. Glowing Shadows
05. Jupiter's Cover

    Verdun "The Cosmic Escape Of Admiral Masuka"

    THRT017 / February 2, 2012


    Named after the most inhuman battle in the First World War, VERDUN (Montpellier - France) are one of those bands that are hard to label, merging the lines between sludge/doom and slowed-down dark hardcore. Heavy and dry riffing, neck-breaking groove, incantatory vocals and a strong psychedelic feel, that's what you can expect from the half-hour of their debut EP "The Cosmic Escape Of Admiral Masuka". Carrying a strong live reputation, VERDUN is definitely one of those bands to watch for any fan of Burning Witch, Electric Wizard, or Amenra; and by extension anything dark and crushing.

    • Recorded, mixed and mastered by Mathieu Croux in Montpellier, France
    • Artwork by Dadoo Jaxa






    01. Sons Of The Atom
    02. Last Man Standing
    03. Jaxa